America! Fuck yeah (kind of)!

So back from two weeks in California and there are mixed thoughts… though mostly positive.

Anyone who keeps track of my angry tweeting will be aware of my political leanings; however, now I feel that I can comment on certain things now that they have been experienced.

Firstly, I have a new found love of the NHS. It’s always been, in my mind, one of the things that Britain can be truly proud of. It has its flaws, of course; however, it’s comforting to know that, if anything serious happens, I will be taken care of thankfully.

As for the US Health Care system – the easiest way I can describe it is an absolute shitty system, staffed by some amazing people who are fully aware of the shittiness of the system. They, however, endeavour to try to make it as less shitty as possible and for that I respect the fuck out of them… doesn’t mean I’m happy with the hospital bill I received even though very little was done.

This isn’t the fault of the nurses or staff though, this is due to America being an enigma. For such a “forward-looking” nation, it’s certainly very backwards in how it operates. How they are the only “First World” nation without Universal Health Care I will never understand… well I do, it’s due to dishonest politicians and the greed of private insurance and pharmaceutical companies.

All countries have deep flaws in the build up of the political and cultural make ups – places like America though seem to have theirs amplified due to their standing in the world.

The amount of homelessness that I saw in San Francisco was upsetting and the fact that a good percentage of these people seemed to have issues with their mental health speaks volumes to the state of America’s Health Care system as well. Though they are far from the only nation who are wholly failing the Mental Health of their citizens, the UK included.

Though it wouldn’t fix the issue of vagrancy in its entirety, the fact that the majority of people over there aren’t paid a fair wage is a massive factor.

When a hard-working server is paid a shit wage and depends on tips to scrape by there is no surprise when they fall behind of the expenses that we all have to fork out for.

All civilised nations should be looking to offer fair wages and health care that doesn’t bankrupt its citizens. And yet, there still seems to be a fair percentage of the population (mostly Right-leaning) who still believes that they somehow live in the “greatest nation” in the world. This dangerous breed of Nationalism helps to solve nothing.

There’s a fine line between Patriotism and Nationalism – and I side with Orwell that there is no problem with being a Patriot, why shouldn’t you love one place in particular; however, one must fight against Nationalism – and due to a particular Orange Walrus, it seems to be an ugly thing raising its head in certain parts. And I am proud of my American friends who struggle and protest against this.

“Patriotism is supporting your country all of the time; and your Government when it deserves it.”

Mark Twain

Leave a comment