Friendship

Friends.

I have close friends, and old friends.

Friends I haven’t spoke to in an age

And friends I speak to way too much.

Friends who I can talk deeply with

And friends who know nothing about me.

I have pub friends and work friends and colleagues I don’t really consider friends.

There are people who I’m still connected with online, though I don’t really understand why.

People I’ve lost connection with that I wish I could reconnect with.

Friends who are just like me and friends who I agree with on next to nothing.

White, black, men, women, liberal, conservative, and everyone else in between.

So long as I like you more than you annoy me

We’ve got a pretty good shot at staying mates.

Looking at my friends list though I feel changes may be needed.

We’re born alone, we live alone, we die alone. Only through our love and friendship can we create the illusion for the moment that we’re not alone.

Orson Welles

Leave a comment