七転び八起き

This week I started a new degree again… again.

 

Had I persevered with the last one, it would have been completed by now; however, my student loan would have been much larger and I wouldn’t have been completely happy with the final degree. At least now I have managed to tweak it a bit and am starting afresh with a qualification I can be proud of… and hopefully get use out of. Not like that pointless theology degree haha.

 

Yes – when i’m down it will probably feel like I’ve gone backwards a bit in life but should I finish this then I know that it will hopefully open up a world of possibilities for me.

 

I never quite understood the proverb in the title, Japanese obviously… translates to “fall down seven times, stand up eight”. Quick arithmetic would state that, according to that proverb, we’re down to start with. Oh well, keep on getting up I guess.

 

Perseverance is a great element of success. If you only knock long enough and loud enough at the gate, you are sure to wake up somebody.

  • Henry Wandsworth Longfellow

Leave a comment