Procrastination; you are a cruel mistress.

Back to work tomorrow, university assessment due on Wednesday.

This weekend, instead of studying, I have found myself watching all Season 2 of After Life on Netflix (well worth a watch btw) and amazingly, plotting a walk across America… fucking America? That’s 3,100 miles. I’ve only managed to plan the route across two thirds of Virginia so far. What the fuck am I doing?

Amazingly, during these strange times, it seems that the more restricted you are in leaving the house the harder you will look in order to find something to distract you from what you need to be doing.

It’s not all terrible – beginning of the week I told an Irish pal that I was about 6 or 7 weeks behind on my uni reading. I am now approximately 3 weeks behind – which whilst not great, is a damn sight lot better than it could be.

It is amazing though how eager you can find yourself being to try and find some kind of distraction.

As well as the falling behind at uni are the struggles of life under COVID-19. Let’s face it, compared to others I have things fucking easy. I still have my job (though working from home can be frustrating), I’m still relatively healthy – however, I need to start working out. Between work and uni all I’m doing is sitting on my arse, eating, and drinking.

A schedule sounds good right about now; however, there’s part of me thinking that that might just be me looking for something else to procrastinate over.

Updates to follow.

“You may delay, but time will not.”

Benjamin Franklin

Leave a comment